top of page

Never Too Late


I am hoping this is the first of many blog's. Not just by me but hopefully I can encourage others to share their stories, challenges, tips and sucsess tales alike.

I have hyperlinked a powerpoint slide which gives you a brief history from my diognosis in 1978 until the present day however in those thirty-nine years of forever changing treatments I know I am not alone in sometimes feeling alone and facing some very dark times along the way. Sometimes it felt like every challenge in life was made worse with Diabetes which in turn made it more difficult to maintain good Diabetes control, and eventually being diagnosed with Diabetic retinopathy at the age of twenty one due to poor control.

I believe sometimes the challenges that we face through life are made more difficult with Diabetes as these challenges are another battle, another thing to try to control at the same time as trying to control our Diabetes, something which is very hard to control even if you are keen, pay an interest, want to be healthy and exercise. Every person with Diabetes knows that everyday brings a different challenge and no two days are the same with our Diabetes management.

I had an enlighenment in 2013. I will not go into what has helped me become a new person in my life but all I know is that we all have a reason to embrace our Diabetes and learn to live in harmony with it. The key is to take each day as it comes.

I have manged to stop smoking fifteen grams of tobacco a day and being diagnosed with the lung capicity of a 75 year old to now being able to run 5.75 KM in 33 minutes which I try to do at least three times per week. I generally eat healthy following the guide lines of a very popular weight loss group. I do eat plenty of fruit and although high in carbs and natral sugars I find that my activeness and bolus ratios cope with my fruit intake, there are also some fairly low carb fruits around.

Do not get me wrong, I have bad days where I find I can binge and crave the worst carbs however if you bolus correctly and prepare for the consequences, things righ themselves pretty quickly but in the long and short if I want my cake, I will eat it.

Compared to the direction that I was heading in 1996 and feeling like a "bad diabetic" I now see that it is never to late to change our ways for the better and live a full and healthy lifestyle with no limitations, no matter what treatments we are on. The only way is up... or down, but never as stabilized as we wish.


join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

join us

 for the 

PARTY

Recipe Exchange @ 9pm!

My Journey of Discovery
and Weight Loss

A year ago, I decided it’s time to change my lifestyle. This meant taking control of my life and making important decisions..

Read More About me
My Sponsers
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page